Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help a newbie - Examples not working

Hi all,

I'm completely new to VoltDB. I'm supposed to test an In-Memory database for college and chose VoltDB:

I've installed VoltDB in a virtual CentOS 7 machine. VoltDB is running, I have managed to create some tables. When I go to the Admin Console (localhost:8080), I can see the tables appearing.

I've tried to use the examples in the "Examples" folder and non of them is working. Here's the steps I perform:
    - Go to the folder with the example, e.g. bank-offers
    - Execute run.sh (./run.sh)
    - VoltDB will start
    - Go to the "web" folder and start index.html
    - Firefox starts
    - A box "Transactions/s" is displayed, the time line is moving, but the graph is at 0 all the time.
    - On the left I can see the headers "Offers/sec" and "Recent Offers", but no content.

The equivalent of this happens with all examples I tested. I browsed a bit through the folders. Each example has a "procedures" folder with some .java files. But no class files or jar files. Not sure if that's an issue.

Can someone help?

Thanks a lot,

Laura

I just ran the Metrocard example. In that one at least I get an error. In the other examples, there are no error messages:
    ERROR: Cannot invoke procedure GetSwipesPerSecond. Procedure not found.
    ERROR: Cannot invoke procedure GetBusiestStationInLastMinute. Procedure not found.

Comment

Laura,

It appears that you may have skipped a step as described in the Quickstart section of the README.md files:

3. Open a new shell in the same directory and type "sqlcmd < ddl.sql" to load the schema and the jarfile of procedures into VoltDB.

Please kill any currently running VoltDB processes and try executing the steps in the Quickstart instructions.

Comment

Hi Pmartel,

thanks so much for helping and sorry for the long answer:

I had tried that initially, but tried now again. Unfortunately still no luck.

Steps: