Forum: Other

Beginners question
pbaliuka
Mar 17, 2010
I've spend more than 1/2 hour browsing documentation and still have questions related to the D part from ACID:
1. How snapshots are guaranteed to be 100% correct and reusable?
2. Can I restore DB image to stage between?
3. Can transactions performed be logged (e.g. optional turn on transaction log ir fine level granularity required)?

My background is very specialized transaction processors similar to http://obsidiandynamics.com/dts/concepts.html and architecture from what I imagine and VoldDB can be different...

I was not able to find architectural description in documentation set. Could someone please create/add architecture doc in the documentation set?

Thanks
PrB
The D in ACID
tcallaghan
Mar 17, 2010
PrB,

Good questions.

1. How snapshots are guaranteed to be 100% correct and reusable?
Snapshots store checksum information to ensure validity. Currently, the only way to test a snapshot is to perform a restore, which can be done on a different cluster. In a future release we will likely create a utility to test the snapshot without performing a restore.

2. Can I restore DB image to stage between?
Yes, snapshots can be restored to any VoltDB cluster that has the same or more RAM than the source cluster. The restore cluster does not need to have the same number of nodes or k-safety factor as the source cluster.

3. Can transactions performed be logged (e.g. optional turn on transaction log or fine level granularity required)?
There is no option to turn on transaction logging. If you want to do this for audit purposes you will need to add audit type tables to your schema and do the inserts to these tables in your stored procedures.

I was not able to find architectural description in documentation set. Could someone please create/add architecture doc in the documentation set?

I'll pass this request along to our Technical Writer.

-Tim
VoltDB Architecture
ajgent
Mar 25, 2010
Hi,