Forum: Building VoltDB Applications

Cluster with VoltDB community Edition
Raveendra
Aug 12, 2011
Hi,
I am new to the VoltDB. I am very much interested in this. I am able to run the sample example of voltdb by downloading community edition.

Now I want to know is cluster going to work on VoltDB Community Edition?

I know that we need to configure the number of hosts in the deployment.xml.
But where do I mention the all the nodes' IP Address which are in cluster.

Please provide one sample for this.

Thanks and regards
Ravee
No need: you only need to indicate the "leader" for startup
sebc
Aug 12, 2011
Hi Ravee,

There is no need for you to list out all your nodes anywhere: you only need to point to a single "leader" node that's used at startup to connect all your nodes together. The leader isn't a "master" or even much of a "leader" in truth: in VoltDB, all nodes are peers, for purposes of reliability (you wouldn't want a single point of failure by having a critical server node in your data center!). What the leader does is, at startup, serve as a central dispatcher/communicator to connect all the nodes together. After the startup has completed, all nodes communicate with all other nodes in your cluster and the notion of "leader" loses its meaning.

The only place you would want to list the DNS/IP addresses of your nodes is the client application, so that your client can round-robin requests between the nodes (and gain some resilience in case one of the nodes should fail). For the examples, you can modify this in the build.xml, generally in the ant target named "client" (or some such name) - the reference that indicates "localhost" is what you want to change: simply list your servers in CSV, for instance: 192.168.1.201,192.168.1.202