Forum: Building VoltDB Clients

Priming Volt with data from Oracle
steviet1000
Dec 28, 2012
Hi. I'm a newbie to the site and excited to start using Volt. [that means go easy on me!] :)

We are planning to use VoltDB initially to supplement our Oracle database. We will use it initially to provide a cache of frequently accessed, infrequently modified data. I'd like to see if there are any apps/snippets that take data from an Oracle instance and populate Volt. I really want to avoid files flying around between the two if possible. Any help would be great... Thanks and Happy New year!
awilson
Jan 7, 2013
Hi. I'm a newbie to the site and excited to start using Volt. [that means go easy on me!] :)

We are planning to use VoltDB initially to supplement our Oracle database. We will use it initially to provide a cache of frequently accessed, infrequently modified data. I'd like to see if there are any apps/snippets that take data from an Oracle instance and populate Volt. I really want to avoid files flying around between the two if possible. Any help would be great... Thanks and Happy New year!

Hi,

Are you thinking of a lazy evaluation, application driven type of migration where if the data does not exist that you call volt, do not find a record and then go to the canonical Oracle instance and copy the record into Volt. Alternatively, are you thinking of doing more of an eager conversion where you copy the most active data over to Volt and age it out as it is less often used?
steviet1000
Apr 30, 2013
we're thinking that volt would be the first location we'd query against.. if it's not there then go to oracle, get it and then populate volt for the next user/query. So over time you're going less and less to Oracle for reference lookups. [sorry for the delay, I need to put an alert on, and thanks for the reply]
jpiekos
May 1, 2013
Hi Stevie,