Forum: Managing VoltDB

Post: Experiment on Elastic Scale-out with VoltDB Community Edition

Experiment on Elastic Scale-out with VoltDB Community Edition
nkatsip
Nov 19, 2013
Hello,

I am a PhD student and I currently work on some scaling-out problems of Parallel DBMSs. I chose to work with VoltDB and I plan to follow the following scheme in order to simulate elastic scale-out in my cluster:

1. Have a 2-node cluster.
  2. Provision a node in my cluster to be a scale-out node.
  3. After the DB Initialization, I turn off the scale-out node (just stop the process and make it in-operational).
  4. I start a client application that increasingly needs more throughput.
  5. By the time my cluster cannot respond quickly enough (response-time has increased), I start my scale-out node
  6. After the scale-out node recovers from its failure (data have been sent over), it can respond to the client requests.
  7. The client's requests are served by both machines.

The way I thought the afore-mentioned can be done, is by enabling the k-safety in my 2-node cluster. I start my 2-nodes and after the DB is initialized, I stop the scale-out node. When I need more throughput, I just start the scale-out node and by the time it is ready, requests are served by both machines.

However, the Community Edition of VoltDB does not support k-safety, so If I turn off my scale-out node after the DB Initialization, my server goes down. Is there any other way around in order to simulate the afore-mentioned scheme? Is there any way I can have access to a VoltDB edition with k-safety so I can conduct my experiments?

Thank you for your time.
jpiekos
Nov 19, 2013
K-safety is essentially "high availability" rather than scale-out. While k-safety can help read throughput (replicas can service read requests), write requests must happen on all replicas synchronously - adding more k-safety doesn't increase scale-out for writes.