Forum: VoltDB Architecture

Post: Two quick questions for a total newbie: GROUP BY and Out of Memory

Two quick questions for a total newbie: GROUP BY and Out of Memory
YourLocalNerd
Nov 14, 2014
Hey guys, first post in the forum and I really like VoltDB so far.

Two quick questions I have regarding how VoltDB works:

How exactly does GROUP BY work in VoltDB? Does it have anything to do with table partitions? Does it do some sort of clusterwide search for table partitions?
I got really confused just trying to think this one out and couldn't make heads or tails out of the source code on Github. :/

Other question, what happens to VoltDB if the server runs out of memory? Does it write on another node? What if the entire cluster runs out of memory? Does it shutdown after a quick snapshot and command logging? Or does it stay suspended until memory is freed, as is the case with some other DBMS, like MySQL does with disk space?

Thanks for your answers in advance!
rmorgenstein
Nov 18, 2014
Answering in reverse order:

If a VoltDB process exhausts memory, then Linux generally steps in and starts killing processes ( these days I like to think of it as the OOM Fairy). If this happens to 1 machine (like if that one was underprovisioned) - you can expand memory or delete some data - then rejoin that server. If the whole database crashes down you have the full ability to recover from command logs (unless you turned them off) and nothing is lost.

We recommend that you do some capacity planning ahead of time and then use monitoring/alerting software to prevent this from happening.

See the VoltDB Planning Guide for sizing information and also the online sizing worksheet on http://<yourserver>:8080. For more information about Monitoring and recovery from failures, see the VoltDB Admin Guide.

----------